African University College of Communication


Apply Now

300 (2007)









AUCC is a private tertiary institution dedicated mainly to the study, research and teaching of the Media and Communication. AUCC was initially established in 2002 as the African Institute of Journalism and Communications (AIJC) by Hon. Kojo Yankah, a former Editor of Ghana’s widest circulation newspaper, the Daily Graphic, former Director of the Ghana Institute of Journalism, a former Minister of State, and a former Member of Parliament in the Fourth Republic of Ghana. According to the Founder, AUCC was established to “bring to the front row the enormous importance of communication in today’s world. The Diploma-awarding Institute admitted its first batch of 60 students in October 2002, and was formally accredited as a tertiary institution by the National Accreditation Board (NAB) in March 2004. In November 2007, AIJC with a population of 300 students was accredited to offer a four-year Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree programme in Communication Studies, under its new name, African University College of Communications; making it the first University in Africa to offer Journalism and Communication Studies as its flagship programmes. AUCC Business School was added in 2010 to provide opportunities for students to “think business” as they go out as professionals. In the year 2014, the Business School was renamed Sam E. Jonah School of Business. The main campus of AUCC is located in the heart of the City of Accra, Ghana. Even when the 100-acre campus at Winneba Junction is developed, AUCC will maintain its campus in Accra. AUCC has maintained a multi-national faculty to give exposure to different experiences throughout the world, and provides students with further opportunities to “discover themselves”. In its short history, AUCC has been recognized by UNESCO as Centre of Excellence, and has signed exchange programmes with a number of universities throughout the world. The University College is a member of the Association of African Universities (AAU) and the Council of Independent Universities (CIU), Ghana.

Read More

Our Location